Sandesh Jhingan And Keegan Pereira On Indian Squad

Newly appointed coach of the Indian football team Stephen Constantine announced his squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Nepal later this month.


The Indian National Football Team. File photo.

“Chhetri Not My Captain Yet”- Constantine

Bengaluru FC stalwart Sunil Chhetri has not yet been confirmed as the captain of the Indian football team. Although it will come as a shock to players and fans alike, Stephen Constantine remains firm that he will choose his captain. One he believes is a mainstay in his starting XI.

The 30 year old Sunil Chhetri took over the captain’s armband from Baichung Bhutia following the latter’s retirement. However, despite that, it will indeed be a proud moment for Chhetri as he dons the Indian shirt for the FIFA World Cup qualifier.

Sandesh Jhingan And Keegan Pereira Get The Nod

Sandesh Jhingan, the Chandigarh lad who made a name for himself in the Indian Super League has been called up to the first team. Despite his eye catching display at the ISL, Sandesh Jhingan has become relatively reclusive as the I League has begun. Perhaps his splendid performance for Sporting Clube de Goa against Bengaluru FC at the Fatorda Stadium on Saturday prompted Constantine to add his name to the team sheets.

Keegan Pereira’s resurgence in Indian football was aptly marked by Bengaluru FC’s title win last season. However, this season has been a different story for the influential full back as it seems that he has lost his place to new signing Chhuantea Fanai. Therefore, eyebrows are raised following Constantine’s decision to add him to the squad.

Youth Given A Chance

Stephen Constantine has stamped his authority on the Indian national football team by brining in an entire host of changes in contrast to the squad cached by Wim Koevermans.

Royal Wahingdoh wonderkid Jackichand Singh and Stabaek custodian Gurpreet Sandhu have been given the nod.

Jackichand Singh, a part of the newly promoted Royal Wahingdoh has caught the eye of many with his impressive work rate and skill on the ball.

The new recruits to the Indian squad also include Bengaluru FC players Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Rino Anto.


Goalkeepers: Subrata Pal, Gurpreet Sandhu, Karanjit Singh and Arindam Bhattacharya

Defenders: Arnab Mondal, Keegan Pereira, Rino Anto, Raju Gaikwad, Pritam Kotal, Aiborlang Khongjee, Parbir Das, Augustine Fernandes, Saumik Dey, Rowilson Rodrigues and Sandesh Jhingan

Midfielders: Cavin Lobo, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Lalrindika Ralte, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Lenny Rodrigues, Dhanpal Ganesh, Mandar Rao Desai, Romeo Fernandes, Mehtab Hossain and Anthony D’Souza

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Balwant Singh, Jeje Lalpheklua and Jackichand Singh


India vs Nepal- 12th March 2015, Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati

Nepal vs Indian 17th March 2015, Dasarath Rangasala Stadium, Kathmandu

Catch the match reports and analysis on Sports Rediscovered.

For Sports Updates