Cricket World Cup Quarters: Mauka For Bangladesh, Pakistan

As the ICC Cricket World cup moves into its last leg of group stage matches, the curiosity in fans regarding the quarter-finalists appears to be growing like never before.

Bangladesh created a major upset on Monday by knocking England out of the tournament after beating them by 15 runs in a close encounter. The Bangladesh tigers have now leapfrogged Sri Lanka to take the 3rd place in Pool A of the Cricket World Cup. However, that third slot is in jeopardy as a loss for Bangladesh against New Zealand along with Sri Lanka’s win over Scotland could dethrone the Tigers and put them back in the 4th position.


Bangladesh beat England to qualify for the quarterfinals of the ICC World cup 2015. They are likely to meet India in the last eight clash.

India vs Bangladesh in Cricket World Cup Quarter-Finals?

Hence India, who strengthened their lead at the top of the pool B table after beating Ireland on Tuesday, have a strong possibility of playing Bangladesh in the quarterfinals of the Cricket World Cup. Of the two, India will be the more relieved side as they shall play against subcontinental neighbours and familiar foes.

Pakistan’s ‘Mauka’ for revenge: A semi-final against India ?

After a thrilling 29-run win over South Africa a couple of days ago, Pakistan have boosted their chances of qualifying into the quarter finals of this tournament. They are currently third on the table and are expected to hold on to that spot. If Pakistan manages to beat Ireland by a big margin, they will replace South Africa at the 2nd position. If they fail to do so, and stay at the third position, they will meet Australia in the quarter-final.


Pakistan have to finish 2nd in the pool B table which will boost their chances of meeting India in the semifnals of the ICC World cup 2015

The 2nd place is important for Pakistan as it will help them set up a semi-final clash against India. Going by the Cricket World Cup 2011 format, the winner of quarterfinal 1 will play the winner of quarterfinal 2. Finishing second on pool B means, Pakistan will face Sri Lanka in quarterfinal 1 and winning this match will see them face India (if they beat Bangladesh in QF-2) in the semifinals.

Expected quarter-final lineup for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Quarter-final 1: Pakistan/South Africa vs Sri Lanka (B2 vs A3)
Quarter-final 2: India vs Bangladesh (B1 vs A4)
Quarter-final 3: Australia vs South Africa/Pakistan (A2 vs B3)
Quarter-final 4: New Zealand vs West Indies/Ireland (A1 vs B4)

Winner of QF-3 plays winner of QF-4 in Semi-final 1
Winner of QF-1 plays winner of QF-2 in Semi-final 2

For Sports Updates