IPL 2015 : Sunrisers Hyderabad – Team Analysis

It’s a new season, and a new captain for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) franchise! Play offs in 2013, and a 6th place finish in 2014 – the last two years have been in sharp contrast for the team from Hyderabad. However, with David Warner set to take charge as their new captain, this time around, SRH will hope to spring a surprise on the other top rated teams in the IPL.


New captain, new challenges!

Dhawan, Williamson and Warner to lead batting charge

A year ago, Shikhar Dhawan was only a shadow of his present self. But the drastic improvements made by the southpaw during the World Cup ought to make him feel better in this year’s IPL.

Runs at the top of the order are crucial for any team in a T20 game. Dhawan’s dynamism and present form can give Sunrisers Hyderabad the edge in most games. David Warner is likely to partner him at the top, and his daredevilry with the bat will ensure that opposing bowlers feel fear this opening combo.

The addition of Kane Williamson boosts the middle order of the side, which had looked slightly ordinary in the last couple of years. Williamson’s stellar run of form in the recent past, during which he scored runs all around the world, ought to come in handy for the Hyderabad franchise. Eoin Morgan, Moises Henriques, Naman Ojha and Lokesh Rahul are likely to be the other notable names in the playing XI.

Hanuma Vihari had played a number of handy knocks for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the last two seasons. The youngster is expected to make good use of that experience this time. Bengal Ranji skipper Laxmi Ratan Shukla is a potent weapon with the bat and the ball, and is likely to find a place in the team, owing to the dicey nature of the tracks which are presented during the IPL.

Pace battery of the Sunrisers – Dale Steyn, Bhuvneshwar, Ishant and Trent Boult –

Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar had formed the core of Sunrisers’ bowling unit in the last two years. The addition of World Cup star Trent Boult to this line up lends it an even deadlier appearance! Siddarth Kaul and Praveen Kumar, with useful knowledge of bowling conditions in India, are also expected to come in handy during the tournament.

Parvez Rasool and Karn Sharma are the two genuine spinners in the side. Both have had ample experience of playing in the IPL during the last few years. In all probability, there is going to be a toss up between the two for the spinner’s spot in the side on most days. However, both might be in action on rank turners, which are found in some of the venues in India.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad for IPL 2015

Shikhar Dhawan, Ashish Reddy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Chama Milind, Ishant Sharma, Karn Sharma, KL Rahul, Naman Ojha, Parveez Rasool, Ricky Bhui, Dale Steyn, David Warner, Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara and Moises Henriques.

For Sports Updates