Jitu Rai Wins Indian Sports Person of the Year Award


Shooter Jitu Rai, who won seven international medals last year, was felicitated as the Indian Sports person of the Year at an awards ceremony this Thursday. Legendary sprinter, Milkha Singh, popularly known as the ‘Flying Sikh’ was honored with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’.


Jitu Rai waves after winning a medal for India

Unprecedented Success for Jitu Rai

These awards for shooter Jitu Rai and legendary sprinter, Milkha Singh, were part of the Times of India Sporting Awards initiative that received a fitting conclusion on Thursday, with several Indian sports persons across multiple sports being awarded and felicitated.

The guest of honour was 10-time Olympic medallist, Carl Lewis. Carl Lewis was also the guest editor of Times of India’s Thursday edition.

Indian Sports Winners !

Cue player Pankaj Advani, also won the Indian Sports Person of the Year award, albeit in the Popular Choice category. In the Emerging Players’ category the following Indian sporting talent won the jury award –

  • Malaika Goel (Shooting)
  • Khushbir Kaur (Race walking)
  • Amit Kumar Dahiya and Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling)
  • Sanjita Chanu (Weightlifting)
  • A. Chikkarangappa (Golf)

Cricketer Virat Kohli bagged the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ award in the Popular Choice category, while women cricket player, Harmanpreet Kaur, won the jury award in the same category.

Other Indian sports winners included footballer Sunil Chhetri, badminton player PV Sindhu, paddler Achanta Sharath Kamal,wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt and Vikas Gowda in athletics. Squash player Dipika Pallikal, golfer Anirban Lahiri, hockey players PR Sreejesh and Rani Rampal, chess Grand Master Vishwanathan Anand and boxers MC Mary Kom and L Sarita Devi also received awards. World no. 1 in doubles, Sania Mirza and weightlifter Satish Sivalingam also received awards at the TOISA ceremony.

Respected Jury

The jury panellists included Indian tennis legend, Ramesh Krishnan, bronze medallist at the 2003 Paris World Championships, Anju Bobby George and former Indian cricketer, Sourav Ganguly.


TOISA was instituted by Times of India in order to acknowledge the contribution of Indian sports persons. It is indeed a creditable effort to honor and felicitate winners from Indian sports.

For Sports Updates


  1. Author Image

    Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, excellent blog!

  2. Author Image

    It was actually wonderful to read this info and I feel you're absolutely correct. Tell me in the event that you are curious about bluestacks download for windows 7, that is my major expertise. I'm hoping to see you in the near future, take good care!

  3. Author Image

    Thanks a ton for writing this, I bookmarked the website. I am additionally struggling to find details regarding medical lawsuit, do you know exactly where I might find something such as this? I'll come back in a little while!

  4. Author Image

    You're totally correct and I trust you. Whenever you wish, we can as well speak regarding amazon fire starter apk, something which intrigues me. Your website is really amazing, all the best!

  5. Author Image

    I totally adore your blog and find nearly all of your blogposts to be just what I am searching for. Would you offer people to create articles for you? I would not mind publishing an article relating to facetime android free download or maybe on a few of the subjects you are writing about here. Great website!

  6. Author Image

    I was speaking to a good friend of my own on this article and about latest framaroot as well. I do think you made a few great points here, we are looking forward to read more stuff from you.

  7. Author Image

    I constantly look over your site content thoroughly. I am also interested in omega xl price, perhaps you could talk about this at times. Cheers.

  8. Author Image

    I always look over your posts thoroughly. I'm likewise fascinated by lucky patcher, maybe you could write about this sometimes. See ya!

  9. Author Image

    I actually arrived right here from a different web address relating to garageband windows and thought I might as well check this out. I really like what I see thus now I am following you. Looking forward to going over your blog back again.

  10. Author Image

    Your means of telling all in this post is genuinely pleasant, all can without difficulty be aware of it, Thanks a lot.|

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.