Mumbai Indians Win Second IPL Title In Style

Mumbai Indians bagged their second IPL title, defeating Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. Put into bat first, Mumbai were driven by half centuries from Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma. Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu went big in the final overs to help their team post 202/5 in 20 overs. Chennai Super Kings, in response, could hardly put up any fight as they limped their way to 161/8.

Mumbai-Indians-win-IPL 2015

Lendl Simmons led from the front with a cracking half century

Mumbai Indians put into bat, Simmons and Rohit lead the charge

The Mumbai outfit were jolted quite early in their innings by Parthiv Patel’s dismissal in the very first over. Faf du Plessis brilliantly ran Patel out on the fifth ball of the day, and gave CSK the early advantage. However, the tables turned soon after this. Rohit Sharma came out all guns blazing in his favourite ground once again – it was Eden Gardens after all! Lendl Simmons was at his usual fluent best too. The duo put up a 2nd wicket stand of 119 runs in just 67 balls, and disturbed all of MS Dhoni’s plans for the day! Both batsmen scored half centuries and gave the Mumbai Indians middle order an ideal platform to target 200.

Pollard and Rayudu take Mumbai past 200

With Kieron Pollard in the team, there is never a dearth of fireworks in a T20 game! And today was no exception! Following the quick dismissals of Rohit and Simmons in the 12th and 13th overs, Pollard and Rayudu took upon themselves the task of keeping MI’s momentum intact. They did that perfectly well, with both batsmen scoring at strike rates in excess of 150! Dhoni’s bowlers appeared helpless for the better part of the innings, as Mumbai Indians sauntered to a massive 202/5 on the big day!

Chennai Super Kings fail to get the quick runs upfront

The start to CSK’s chase, was disappointing, to say the least! Both Micheal Hussey and Dwayne Smith failed to find the middle of the bat, and missed an awful lot of deliveries during the powerplay overs. Hussey’s 9-ball-4-run ordeal was brought to an end by Mitchell McClenaghan in the 5th over. Suresh Raina, promoted back to his usual No 3 position, looked in trouble right from the very start when McClenaghan greeted him with a couple of fast bouncers. Dwayne Smith tried to get going at the other end, but his strike rate was way too low for the given target. Raina and Smith, however, stitched a 66 run stand for the 2nd wicket to keep CSK’s hopes alive.

CSK leave it too late, Mumbai bag it by 41 runs

Even though Raina and Smith had kept CSK going for some time, the partnership never looked too menacing for the Mumbai Indians. Both batsmen were, at best, trying to ‘stroll’ towards the target. This didn’t help the middle order at all. Harbhajan’s double strike within a space of 2 overs got rid of both Smith and Raina in quick time. MS Dhoni could do hardly anything from thereon. Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis and Ravindra Jadeja all became a part of the ‘hit, miss and go’ brigade, as the wickets kept tumbling in the death overs. Malinga’s tight bowling ensured that CSK never managed to get anywhere close to the target!

Man of the Match – Rohit Sharma

Brief ScoresMumbai Indians (202/5 in 20 overs, Lendl Simmons 68(45), Dwayne Bravo 2/36) beat Chennai Super Kings (161/8 in 20 overs, Dwayne Smith 57(48), Mitchell McClenaghan 3/25) by 41 runs and win the Pepsi IPL 2015

For Sports Updates