Abhijeet Gupta Completes Perfect Six: Commonwealth Chess

It was an easy day for top seeded Grandmaster Abhijeet Gupta as he continued his winning run. This time, he beat the tenacious M R Lalith Babu in the sixth round of Commonwealth Chess.

Abhijeet Gupta and Lalith Babu

GM Abhijeet Gupta at Commonwealth Chess

Abhijeet Gupta opens with Grunfeld

M R Lalith Babu became Abhijeet’s sixth victim in the tournament in as many matches to continue his streak without dropping any points. GM Abhijeet Gupta employed one of his favourite Grunfeld defense, while his fellow Grandmaster went for a variation that was made popular by Kramnik few years ago. With the variation employed, things did not really go Babu’s way as he missed out on a tactical trick by continuing his initiative rather than attempting to regain a pawn he lost in the opening stages.

Babu got himself compensated as the game continued in the purview of a draw but this was not one of his finer games, having faltered towards the endgame. Abhijeet Gupta did not shy away from taking control of the game thereon to continue his fine form with another clean slate.

Sengupta leads the chase

Grandmaster and defending champion Deep Sengupta kept pace with the top seed following a fine victory over Ankit Rajpara. In a not so usual opening that almost put Rajpara at a disadvantage even before the game entered middle phase, with the loss of a pawn and trading off the queens. Sengupta sent a strong message to Abhijeet, in attempt to defend his championship from the top seed.

Leading the table is Abhijeet Gupta with a perfect six and Sengupta follows at only 0.5 points behind leading the chase to dethrone the top seed. While, a pack of 16 other players are share the third spot with 5 points.

In the women’s section Padmini Rout won her game against Harsha Bharthakoti to take her tally up to five points.

Important Results (Round 6):- GM Lalith Babu M R (4.5) lost to GM Abhijeet Gupta (6); GM Ankit R Rajpara (4.5) lost GM Deep Sengupta (5.5); GM Sahaj Grover (5) drew with IM Arghyadip Das (5); IM Himanshu Sharma (5) drew with GM Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh (5); GM Karthikeyan Murali (4) lost to IM Krishna CRG (5); GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (5) beat IM Rishi Sardana of Australia (4); FM Van Der Nat Nicholas of South Africa (4) lost to GM Abhijit Kunte (5); IM Padmini Rout (5) beat Harsha Bharathakoti (4).

For Sports Updates