Kamini Leads Indian Women Cricket Team To Win Over NZ

After drawing first blood, the Indian women cricket team went 2-1 behind in the recently concluded ODI series against New Zealand women’s team. However, the Indians made a remarkable turnaround to clinch the series 3-2.


India women’s team celebrate the series win

Mithali Raj rediscovered her form, as she went past 5,000 runs in ODI’s in the process becoming only the second Women’s player ever to do it. The Indian spinners came to the party later on in the tournament, and were instrumental in turning the tide in India’s favour. Thirush Kamini was India’s most consistent performer, scoring 158 runs in only 4 innings. New Zealand quickie Lea Tahuhu had a dream start to the tournament, picking up 5 wickets in the first two matches, before fading away.

First ODI – Jhulan leads from the front

Jhulan Goswami stole the show in the first ODI, with her brilliant all round effort, scoring a brisk 57 while bowling with superb control, conceding only 25 runs in her 10 overs. Off spinner Sneh Rana took three wickets, while Ekta Bisht and Harmanpreet Kaur chipped in with 2 each. Lea Tahuhu along with spinners, Morna Nielsen and Leigh Kasperek all claimed 3 wickets, however, their efforts were in vain.

Second ODI – New Zealand Strike back

After a solid start in the second ODI, led by the Thirush Kamini, the Indian batting order saw a middle order collapse, as they went from 95/3 to 123/6, with Kamini having to leave the field, retired hurt. India ended up with a decent 163, with Captain Suzie Bates took 3 wickets for the visitors. New Zealand chased down the target in 44.2 overs, with equal contributions from all the players. Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht and Rajeshwari Gaikwad all took 2 wickets each, but were unable to restrict the Black Caps from chasing down the target.

Third ODI – New Zealand take a lead and ranking points

The Kiwis put in a good batting display in the 3rd ODI, chasing India’s 182 in the 46th over, with openers Bates and Rachel Priest, being involved in a stunning 125-run opening stand. Veda Krishnamurthy had hit a well-paced 63, with both Deepti Sharma and Mithali Raj, contributing significantly to help India reach such an imposing total, with Sophie Devine picking up 3 for the visitors.

Fourth ODI – Indian Women Cricket team turn the tables against NZ

It was Devine again, who caused problems with her batting in the next match, scoring a brisk 89 of 102 balls, guiding her team to an imposing 220 , a total that had not been surpassed so far in the series.  Niranjana Nagarajan was India’s pick of the bowlers, with 3 wickets under her belt.

Captain Mithali Raj was absolutely breath-taking as she along with Smriti Mandhana slaughtered the Kiwi’s bowling line-up, putting up a 124-run stand for the 2nd wicket. Mithali, played a captain’s knock, guiding her team to a win, with a stupendous 81.

Fifth ODI – India takes charge

It was a bowling display of supreme control, as the Indian spinners caused the Kiwi’s all sorts of trouble, before getting them all-out for a paltry 118. Spinners Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Deepti Sharma, along with Jhulan Goswami took 2 wickets each. Thirush Kamini scored a brilliant 62, while Deepti Sharma also contributed with a well-made 44, as India chased the target in just 27.2 overs, to win the match and clinch the series.

For Sports Updates