Soumyajit Ghosh Wins Third Inter Institutional Table Tennis


National champion Soumyajit Ghosh carved his authority to beat PSPB colleague Harmeet Desai 4-2 to win the men’s singles final in the 45th All India Institutional Table Tennis Championships at the Thyagraj Stadium in the national capital.

The women’s crown was earned by home-girl Manika Batra who beat Ankita Das 4-1.

Soumyajit Ghosh lifts Inter Institutional Table Tennis Trophy_2

Soumyajit Ghosh

Soumyajit Ghosh regains glory

Soumyajit Ghosh lifted his first title in 2011, followed by 2013 and narrowly missed in the 2014 edition, losing to this year’s top seed G. Sathiyan. Ghosh was desperate to win back his crown, but his opponent in the final wouldn’t go without a tough fight.

Second seed Soumyajit Ghosh overcame his stubborn colleague in a nail-biting 4-2 finish to earn his third institutional title. Once the scoreline read 2-1 for the previous year’s runner-up, it seemed all over for Desai. However, he came back in the fourth game, showing he still had some fight remaining.

PSPB unconquerable at Inter-Institutional Table Tennis

The PSPB players ruled almost the entire tournament with their members in the finals of each event, competing against each other. The only exception was in the women’s doubles section, where the team from RBI clinched a crucial victory over RSPB in the finals.

Manika Batra won her second title after a gap of three years in singles and also claimed the mixed doubles title along with team-mate Sanil Shetty. During her singles final against Ankita Das, she seemed to be losing in the fourth game as she was down 0-5 but pulled a stunner of a performance to turn the tide of the game as she sealed the title for herself as Ankita won the dead rubber in the fifth game.

Men’s champion Soumyajit Ghosh and runner-up Harmeet Desai lost to Abhishek Yadav and Sudhanshu Grover in the Men’s doubles. As the younger PSPB pair made a good comeback after being held at 2-1 to equalise and finally win the decider in the fifth game to take-away the championship from the top two singles player in the tournament.


Men’s Singles: Final: Soumyajit Ghosh (PSPB) bt Harmeet Desai (PSPB) 4-2 (8-11, 11-5, 13-11, 9-11, 11-6, 18-16).

Women Singles: Final: Manika Batra (PSPB) bt Ankita Das (PSPB) 4-1 (11-7, 5-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-7).

Men’s Doubles: Final: Abhishek Yadav/Sudhanshu Grover (PSPB) bt Soumyajit Ghosh/Harmeet Desai 3-2 (5-11, 11-9, 12-14, 11-8, 15-13).

Women’s Doubles: Final: Krittwika Sinha Roy/Shweta Parte (RBI) bt Anindita Chakraborty/Pallabi Kundu (RSPB) 3-2 (11-6, 6-11, 11-8, 8-11, 11-6).

Mixed Doubles: Final: Sanil Shetty/Manika Batra (PSPB) bt Jubin Kumar/Neha Aggarwal (PSPB) 3-0 (11-4, 11-9, 11-8).

For Sports Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.