Runners Route Weekly #4 – Vasai Virar Mayors Marathon

In this edition of Runner’s Route Weekly, we share with you news of some popular marathons held recently in the country and updates on the latest happenings of the marathon running world.

Vasai Virar Mayor’s Marathon: Date announced

Vasai Virar Mayors Marathon

Vasai-Virar Mayor’s Marathon

The 5th edition of National Vasai Virar Mayors Marathon will be held on 22nd November 2015. This is a national level running event recognized by Athletics Federation of India (AFI) and is one of the biggest and popular marathons in the country, witnessing participation of around 15000 people every year across various categories.

The Vasai-Virar Mayors Marathon started as a State level running event in 2011 and received National level status the following year. A host of elite national long distance runners participate in this marathon every year like, Lyngkhoi Bining, Elam, Singh, Deep Chand, Sanvroo Yadav, Shoji Mathew, Kavita Raut, Sudha Singh, Monika Athare.

Actor, model and running enthusiast Milind Soman has been the ‘Face of the Event’ since its inception while renowned sports persons like P T Usha, Shiny Wilson, Sushil Kumar & Yogeshwar Dutt have been the Event Ambassadors. Bollywood celebrities and prominent personalities grace the event every year.  Cricketing great Sachin Teldulkar was present at the event held last year.

Coimbatore Night Marathon: First ever night marathon in Coimbatore!

Around 700 running enthusiasts participated in the first edition of the Coimbatore Night Marathon on 1st August 2015 at Codissia Trade Fair Complex, GV Fair Grounds. The competition started at 8pm and had three categories, half-marathon (21K), 10K and 5K runs. The event saw participation of local runners and runners from nearby towns. The half-marathon was won by Deepak Kumbhar in 1:05:17. Depaksingh R won the men’s 10K in 00:31:52 and S Pathmavathi won the women’s 10K in 00:40:39.

Puma Urban Stampede, Bengaluru- Lived up to its reputation!

The 8th edition of this popular running event was held on 2nd August 2015 at Manyata Tech Park in Bengaluru. The event had a Corporate Relay and 10K, 5K for individuals. Harish Negi won the men’s 10K in 00:33:45 while Theresa Vellak won the women’s 10k in 00:50:24. Mohit Kumar won the men’s 5K in 00:16:49 and Lakshmi G Nair won the women’s 5K in 00:23:51. Toyota Kirloskar Motor Private Ltd-1 won the Corporate Relay in 1:14:31. Around 1000 people participated in this event.

Durshet Forest Marathon- A tough affair for runners:

The 2nd edition of this tough and challenging marathon was held on 2nd August, 2015. The event started from Durshet Forest Lodge, near Adlabs Imagica, Khopoli and provided the runners with a rough route with frequent elevations, amidst the tranquility of nature, passing by a river and tumbling waterfalls. The most interesting part of the event was the run of Sarthak Malani from Ahmedabad, who ran the entire half-marathon backwards. A 74 year-old running enthusiast, also from Ahmedabad, Premshanker Pandya grabbed eyeballs by running the entire half-marathon barefoot.

The event had various categories, with 10K, half-marathon (21K) and a 5K run. Amit Kumar Yadav won the men’s 10K in 00:42:11 and Vimala Tiwari won the women’s 10K in 00:56:47. Manoj Rane won the men’s 21K in 1:30:12 and Sayuri Dalvi won the women’s 21K in 2:13:41.

International Marathon News:

IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships names Radcliffe as the Ambassador

IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships

IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships

The organizers of IAAF/Cardiff University World Half Marathon Championships, named world record holder Paula Radcliffe as the official ambassador to be held on 26th March 2016 at Cardiff, Wales.

Paula Radcliffe retired from her running career at the 2015 London Marathon and holds the women’s world record in marathon with her time of 2:15:25. She won many renowned marathons throughout her eventful career.

World’s top marathoners are expected to compete in the 22nd edition of this event, which is going to be the biggest ever marathon in Wales. The last time the IAAF World Half Marathon Championships came to the UK was in 2009 when Birmingham hosted the event. In 2014, the 21st edition held in Copenhagen, Denmark, saw Kenya’s Geoffrey Kamworor win in 00:59:08, the world’s fastest time that year. In the women’s section, Gladys Cherono led Kenya to a team title with a season’s best of 1:07:29.

For Sports Updates