Ankita Das, Soumyajit Ghosh Win South Zone TT

Ankita Das won her first Zonal Title, while Soumyajit Ghosh earned his second of the season at the South Zone TT Championship.

ankita-das TT championship

Ankita Das wins her first Zonal TT Championship

PSPB players take top spots at South Zone TT Championship

In another clean sweep by the PSPB players after the All India Inter Institutional TT triumph, won all the gold medals at the South Zone TT Championship.

Ankita Das (2014 national championship winner) defeated opponent Pooja Sahasrabudhe in a clinical seven-game thriller winning 4-3. The two kept up tempo and did not let the other a clear opportunity for victory.

In the end it was Ankita’s composure and superb control over her game that ensured the first title for Ankita in the Zonal’s.

Ankita said she owed her success to former National champion S. Raman. “ A few weeks before the inter-institutional event, I trained with Raman here (she went on to reach the final). Even before this event, I trained with him. I can feel the difference as I have gained a lot of confidence too,” she said.

In the Men’s category Souyamjit Ghosh won his second title of the season, after the all-India inter-institutional triumph. He scripted a 3-11, 11-5, 11-9, 11-8, 2-11, 11-8 victory over team mate Harmeet Desai to clinch the men’s title.

Ghosh came out victorious in what would be his final tournament in India this season. With this win, he is all set and confident of playing in the European League.

The results:

Men Final: Soumyajit Ghosh (PSPB) bt Harmeet Desai (PSPB) 3-11, 11-5, 11-9, 11-8, 2-11, 11-8.

Youth boys Final: Abhishek Yadav (PSPB) bt Sudhanshu Grover (PSPB) 10-12, 11-5, 7-11, 11-6, 5-11, 11-6, 15-13.

Women Final: Ankita Das (PSPB) bt Pooja Sahasrabudhe (PSPB) 11-8, 10-12, 7-11, 11-4, 11-6, 9-11, 11-6.

Youth girls Final: Reeth Rishya (PSPB) bt Ayhika Mukherjee (AAI) 11-8, 6-11, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-8.

For Sports Updates