Runners Route Weekly #7: Running On F1 Race Track


In this edition, we take you through a running event to be held on the Formula 1 race track of Buddh International Circuit , news on marathon event at IAAF World Championships being held in Beijing and some important updates on national running events.

Buddh International Circuit

A F1 car on the race track of Buddh International Circuit

Grand Prix Run: F1 race track awaits the runners!

The Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, which hosted the Indian Grand Prix Formula 1 races during the 2011-2013 season, will be host to a running event – Grand Prix Run on Sunday, 13th December 2015. Running enthusiasts will now get an opportunity to enjoy the experience of running on the F1 race track which saw the F1 cars zoom past with thunderous roars, making this event a first of its kind in our country.

The event will have 6 categories – Half Marathon, 10K Run, 5K Run, 3K Open Run,3K Kids  Run, and 5K X 4 Corporate Relay. There will be awards for winners of each category. All participants (except 3K Kids Run) will be provided with timing chips. The event is likely to witness huge participation from runners in Delhi.

Surat City Half Marathon 2015: Registration closes on 5th September 2015

Surat City Half Marathon 2015 will be held on Sunday,13th September 2015.The event will be organized by Surti Runners, a non-profit organization to promote and encourage recreational running in Surat and will have Half Marathon in 4 participant categories – Men’s Open, Women’s Open, Men’s Veteran, and Women’s Veteran. The total prize money for the event is Rs 7.2 lakhs. The race will start and end at Jolly Party Plot, Udhna-Magdalla road. Timing chips will be provided to all participants, and all finishers will get certificates and medals.

Tata Steel 25 K: Date announced

Tata Steel 25 K

Actor Jeet (middle) and sports person Chuni Goswami( right) during the inaugration of Tata Steel 25 K last year.

The organizers of India’s first AIMS (Association of International Marathons & Road Races) accredited 25K marathon, Tata Steel 25K, have officially announced that the second edition of this running event will be held in Kolkata on Sunday, 20th December 2015. The race categories will include the flagship 25K (elite and amateurs), Open 10K (amateurs), Ananda Run (6 km), Sr. Citizens’ Run (4 km), and Champions with Disability (4 km). London marathon winner and secretary of AIMS, Hugh Jones will be the race director.

Biggest running event in East India:

With over 6,500 runners participating in the inaugural edition last year across various categories, this event turned out to become the biggest running event in East India. This year, the number is expected to grow, with more running enthusiasts participating from Kolkata and various other cities in the country.

Increased Prize Money:

The second edition will see an increase in the prize money, offering a total of Rs.22,80,000 across various categories. The top ten Elite athletes (men and women) in the 25K category will win attractive prizes. The first place winner will receive Rs. 2,50,000 followed by Rs. 1,75,000 for the second place while third place finisher will receive Rs. 1,00,000.

IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015

Men’s Marathon

Ghirmay Ghebreslassie

Ghirmay Ghebreslassie after winning the marathon

19 year old Ghirmay Ghebreslassie from Eritrea won the men’s marathon, held on 22nd August 2015(opening day of IAAF World Championships in Beijing), with a timing of 2:12:27, making him the first athlete from the country to win a gold medal in World Championships. One of the youngest countries in the world,  Eritria gained independence only in 1993. Prior to Ghebreslassie’s gold medal winning marathon run, the only other famous  athlete from this country has been Zersenay Tadese, silver medalist in the 10,000m at the 2009 World Championships. With this win, Ghebreslassie became the youngest winner of any road event in the history of the championships.

Yemane Tsegayy from Ethiopia came second with a timing of 2:13:08, while Munyo Solomon Mutai came  third with a timing of 2:13:30. What is noteworthy is the fact that young Ghebreslassie won the race by beating established champions, Dennis Kimetto, Wilson Kipsang, Lelisa Desisa and defending world and reigning Olympic champion Stephen Kiprotich!

Preview of Women’s Marathon

Edna Kiplagat

Edna Kiplagat

The women’s marathon is going to be held on 29th August 2015. Kenyan Edna Kiplagat created history two years ago by winning back-to-back world titles in marathon. She now has the chance to win it for a third time in Beijing, and come in the same league as the likes of Catherine Ndereba, Manuela Machado and Lidia Simon, as the only three-time medalists at the World Championships. Also, she will become the first athlete to win gold medals in three marathon World Championships.

For Sports Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *