Indian Football Camp For World Cup Qualifier Starts

The Indian Football Team’s Preparatory Camp for the Russia 2018 World Cup Preliminary Joint Qualification match against ‘Giants of Asia,’ Iran, kicked-off at the DSK Dream City, the Home of DSK Shivajians Football Club in Pune on August 23.


Constantine with his support Staff

Prior to hosting Iran at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru on September 8, India will play a practice match against Nepal on August 31 at the Balewadi Stadium in Pune.

National Coach Stephen Constantine who arrived at the venue in the morning said he was “looking forward to working with the Players” again.

“I expect 28 boys to turn up, ready to represent their Country. It’s a very important game for us as are all the games with the National Team. We also have a Friendly against Nepal (on August 31) and that will help us prepare better,” he told

Constantine also showed his gratitude towards the Clubs that released their players in time for the camp.

 “I would like to thank I-League and ISL Clubs for their co-operation in releasing the Players. It’s important that we all think about the development and betterment of Indian Football,” he added.

Constantine who paid a visit to the training site along with his support staff in the afternoon praised the DSK authorities for their willingness to help.

“I have travelled around the Country in the last six months trying to find accommodation, a training pitch and a Stadium in one place. Sadly, however, I haven’t been able to find many. There’s a huge requirement that we have a National Training Centre and even as we are currently looking at possible places, the DSK Academy offers us everything, or more than what we require, ” he said.

The list of 28 probables for the Indian Football Team are:


Subrata Paul, Karanjit Singh, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Arindam Bhattacharya, Sanjiban Ghosh.


Arnab Mondal, Sandesh Jhingan, Aiborlang Khongjee, Dhanachandra Singh, Lalchhuanmawia, Narayan Das, Rino Anto, Pritam Kotal.


Dhanapal Ganesh, Eugenson Lyngdoh, Cavin Lobo, Sehnaj Singh, Jackichand Singh, Pronoy Halder, Brandon Fernandes, Francis Fernandes, CK Vineeth, Rowlin Borges, Romeo Fernandes.


Halicharan Narzary, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri.

Courtesy: AIFF Media

Tune into Sports Rediscovered for more news and updates from the

For Sports Updates