Masters Champions League: 12 Marquee Players Confirmed

Masters Champions League, which will play host to a string of legendary names from cricketing history, named 12 marquee players for its inaugural edition.


Virender Sehwag

With some big names in the sport, the League is expected to be a nostalgic ride for cricket fans. The 12 marquee players will be split across six teams which are named after sun signs.

The 12 Marquee players for the tournament are:

  1. Sourav Ganguly (India)
  2. Virender Sehwag (India)
  3. Michael Vaughan (England)
  4. Graeme Smith (South Africa)
  5. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  6. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
  7. Heath Streak (Zimbabwe)
  8. Graeme Swann (England)
  9. Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)
  10. Azhar Mahmood (Pakistan)
  11. Scott Styris (New Zealand)
  12. Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan)

These players will be split into the following teams:

  1. Libra
  2. Leo
  3. Sagittarius
  4. Capricorn
  5. Virgo
  6. Gemini

The inaugural auction of the tournament is scheduled to take place soon.

“It is indeed a privilege for us to have these names headlining the very first season of MCL. To especially have six of the most successful captains of their respective countries as part of the marquee players’ list is a big moment for the tournament,” said Zarah Shah, CEO of MCL.

Tune into Sports Rediscovered for all the latest news and updates from the Masters champions league and more.

For Sports Updates