IPL Player Draft: Dhoni And Raina In Different Teams

The IPL Player Draft was conducted in Mumbai earlier today and the highly anticipated event witnessed ten players from Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals go under the hammer. The new IPL franchises, Pune and Rajkot had a smart approach towards the auction and each team added five players to their respective squads. The teams were allotted a purse of Rs. 66 crore and the pricing of the five players were as follows:

1) 1st capped player: Rs. 12.5 crore
2) 2nd capped player: Rs. 9.5 crore
3) 3rd capped player: Rs. 7.5 crore
4) 4th capped player: Rs. 5.5 crore
5) 5th capped player: Rs. 4 crore

Dhoni, Ashwin, Rahane to represent Pune in IPL 9, Rajkot pick Raina and Jadeja:

Sanjeev Goenka’s Pune franchise would be the happier lot as they have managed to sign Indian limited-overs captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and in-form Indian players Ajinkya Rahane and R Ashwin. Rahane and Ashwin were impressive in the recently councluded home Test series against South Africa as they played a key role in India’s 3-0 series win. The Pune franchise also made two impressive foreign buys, which include Australian skipper Steve Smith and South African T20 captain Faf du Plessis.


Deadly Duo: The pair of MS Dhoni and R Ashwin has remained intact after the IPL 2016 player draft and they would look to take the Pune team to new heights.

The Rajkot franchise, owned by Intex Mobiles, also had a great outing at the IPL player draft as they picked up some top-quality all-rounders in their side. First up was the highest run-getter in IPL history, Suresh Raina who was finalized for a hefty amount of Rs. 12.5 crore. He was joined by local lad Ravindra Jadeja, which was pretty much expected. The other buys for the Rajkot-based IPL team were Australian and West Indian all-rounders James Faulkner and Dwayne Bravo and Swashbuckling New Zealand batsman Brendon McCullum.

Both the IPL teams have picked two contrasting sets of players; while the Pune franchise looked to build a strong batting line-up, their counterparts have sort of played a masterstroke by roping in two fast-bowling all-rounders. Both Bravo and Faulkner have proved their worth in the previous editions of the IPL with some brilliant pinch-hitting and impeccable bowling in the death overs. Bravo, in particular, is lethal with his slower deliveries and has troubled many batsmen in the past. He was also the winner of the Purple cap last year.


Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja will be a part of the Rajkot franchise for the upcoming edition of the IPL.

Fact: After Dhoni and Raina completed their move to their new sides, Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) and Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians) are the only players who have represented a single franchise in all the eight editions of the IPL. It is highly unlikely that these two players will not be retained by their respective team owners.

Summary: IPL 2015 Player Draft

1. Rs. 12.5 crore Mahendra Singh Dhoni (CSK) Suresh Raina (CSK)
2. Rs. 9.5 crore Ajinkya Rahane (RR) Ravindra Jadeja (CSK)
3. Rs. 7.5 crore Ravichandran Ashwin (CSK) Brendon McCullum (CSK)
4. Rs. 5.5 crore Steven Smith (RR) James Faulkner (RR)
5. Rs. 4 crore Faf du Plessis (CSK) Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

For Sports Updates