Chennaiyin FC Crowned As 2015 ISL Champions

Chennaiyin FC overcame FC Goa in a thrilling match to win the 2015 edition of Indian Super League.


Chennaiyin FC

The Fatorda stadium saw an action packed first half but neither of the teams was able to get on the score line. The scenario changed nine minutes after the half-time break when Mendoza was brought down inside the box. Bruno Pelissari took the spot kick but needed a rebound from FC Goa keeper Kattimani to score.

The lead did not last long as Goa pulled one back through Haokip. Despite the equalizer, things worsened for Goa when Mendoza was once again brought down the box. The resultant penalty, however, was well saved by Kattimani.

Jofre then slotted in a free kick in the 87th minute to give FC Goa the lead but Chennaiyin FC was in no mood to back down. A looping ball from Wadoo forced Kattmani to punch it into his own net and make the score 2-2 at the end of regulation time.

The drama continued when ISL top scorer Mendoza scored in stoppage time to give Chennaiyin FC the win and the 2015 Championship.

With 13 Goals this season, Mendoza is the top scorer in the league and this added sweetness to the victory of Chennai.

Tune into Sports Rediscovered for all the latest news and updates from the Indian Super League.

For Sports Updates