Rio Olympics: Group For Indian Hockey Team Revealed


The Indian Hockey team will play alongside the likes of Germany and Netherlands in Pool B at the 2016 Rio Olympics.


Sardar Singh

World No.2 Netherlands is expected to be a big challenge for India in a group, which also contains Argentina (6), Ireland (12), and Canada (14). India, however, enjoyed a win against Netherlands recently in the Hockey World League final. The team will be looking to draw confidence from the same.

According to the new format, India will have to defeat Ireland and Canada to qualify for the last eight. This makes the route easier for Sardar Singh and his men.

Meanwhile, the Pool A will consist of reigning World Champions Australia (1), Great Britain (4), Belgium (5), Spain (11), New Zealand (8), and Brazil (32).

Indian Women in tough group for Rio Olympics

The Indian women’s hockey team have a tough group for Rio Olympics. They will be in Pool B alongside Argentina (2), Australia (3), Great Britain (6), USA (7) and Japan (10).

Pool A of the Women’s competition will consist of Netherlands (1), New Zealand (4), China (5), Germany (8), Korea (9), and Spain (14).]

The groups were confirmed after Spain and New Zealand accepted their invitation to participate in the Olympics.

Tune into Sports Rediscovered for all the latest news and updates from the sporting world.

For Sports Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *