Patna Pirates Crowned Pro Kabaddi League Champions

U Mumba started the campaign as underdogs and remarkably made their way into the final with an overwhelming victory over the Bengal Warriors with some major contribution from Rishank Devadiga. This made them favourites to lift the title once again. However, the night belonged to the Patna Pirates who impressed with their own raid brigade and the star of the semis Rohit Kumar once again led from the front.

Patna Pirates

Patna Pirates

Patna Pirates dethrone U Mumba

Patna Pirates was clearly the more dominant side during the opening half, finishing with an eight point lead over the defending champions. That only showed U Mumba lacked focus and took the favourites tag far too comfortably. But as the match progressed into the second half, U Mumba revived them from a losing position to offering tough competition to the Pirates.

With five minutes remaining on the clock the game could be anybody’s, as both teams are closely placed at 25-27. The teams were tied in the 40th minute at 28 each, Patna Pirates bring in Deepak Narwal and he’s got a point from the raid, U Mumba Captain Anup Kumar tried to salvage a point but unsuccessful and Sandeep Narwal took another point from the next raid that saw Patna Pirates being crowned champions of the Pro Kabaddi League season 3.

Puneri Paltan takes 3rd place

In a game where the brittle of Pune defense was tested against the attackers of Bengal, it was the defensive unit that emerged with just enough to win. Puneri Paltan made Bengal Warriors bite the dust early in the game taking a decent lead. But Bengal kept fighting and almost made their opposition worry. Deepak Hooda and Manjeet Chillar kept Pune ahead with a massive performance that sees them take the third place, making the finish identical to their league position.

For Sports Updates