Indian Men’s Hockey Team To Play Australia

After a sensational gold medal winning effort at the Asian Games in Incheon, the Indian Men’s Hockey Team is set to play World no. 1 and Commonwealth Games gold medalists Australia in a 4-match series which will commence from November 2nd. Hockey India announced a 21-member squad for the series which has been scheduled as part of the preparations for the upcoming Champions Trophy to be held in India in December.


The Indian Men’s hockey team

The Indian team will be led by experienced captain Sardar Singh, with goalkeeper PR Sreejesh serving as his deputy. The squad is the same as the one that traveled to Incheon last month with the addition of 5 more players.

Harjot Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu, Satbir Singh and Lalit Upadhyay will join the team. The team will leave for Australia on October 29 and will be training and playing the 4-match test series in the Perth hockey stadium from October 30 to November 10. India are also scheduled to play a practice game against Australia ‘A’ on November 1.

The squad was selected by Hockey India selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Harbinder Singh and Mr. Arjun Halappa along with Chief Coach Terry Walsh, Coach Jude Felix and Physiotherapist Jince Thomas Mathew. The selection of the players was based on their performances at the Asian Games and the selection trials conducted at the Major Dhyan Chand National Hockey Stadium.

Hockey India President Mr. Narinder Batra gave his best wishes to the Indian Hockey Team and said that facing Australia will give the team a lot of motivation and much needed exposure which will help the team to perform well in the Champions Trophy.

India and Australia last met in the Final of the Glasgow Commonwealth Games. In that final, Australia beat India to bag the gold medal. India are now a much improved side and will hope to give a good fight to the Aussies.

The Schedule For the Australian Series:

1) 4-11-2014 16:30 IST
2) 5-11-2014 16:30 IST
3) 8-11-2014 16:30 IST
4) 9-11-2014 16:30 IST

The Squad:

1- P R Sreejesh (112 Caps) Vice- Captain
2- Harjot Singh (05 Caps)


3- Gurbaj Singh (176 Caps)
4- Rupinder Pal Singh (99 Caps)
5- V R Raghunath (172 Caps)
6- Briendra Lakra (83 Caps)
7- Kothajit Singh Khadangbam (83 Caps)
8- Gurjinder Singh (16 Caps)
9- Harbir Singh Sandhu (30 Caps)


10- Manpreet Singh (109 Caps)
11- S K Uthappa (54 Caps)
12- Sardar Singh (197 Caps) Captain
13- Dharamvir Singh (87 Caps)
14- Danish Mujtaba (123 Caps)
15- Satbir Singh (12 Caps)


16- Nikkin Thimmaiah(23 Caps)
17- S V Sunil (149 Caps)
18- Mandeep Singh (40 Caps)
19- Akashdeep Singh (53 Caps)
20- Ramandeep Singh (23 Caps)
21- Lalit Upadhyay (06 Caps)

For Sports Updates