Champions Tennis League- India’s Own Tennis League

A Tennis league with the specific aim of promoting Indian tennis players starts this November- The Champions Tennis League India. Indian tennis legend Vijay Amritraj is the chief visionary behind the event which is styled on the Indian Premier League. Spread across six cities and ten days, the CTL will be aired live on popular sports channel Sony Six from 17 November to 26 November.


Vijay Amritraj at the players draft of the Champions Tennis League

Background And Format:

The event, which is promoted by Amritraj’s sports management company Second Serve, will have teams from Delhi, Mumbai, Chandigarh, Pune, Bangalore and Hyderabad. These teams will be divided into 2 groups, each having 3 teams, where all the teams play each other. The teams which win the highest number of games (not sets) in their respective group, will play each other in the Grand Finale on 26 November. The prize money for the winning team is Rs. 1 crore and Rs. 50 lakh for the runner-up.

Each team will play on a home-away basis in order to decide the group standings. The table toppers of each group will play each other in the final. Each team consists of a Legend, an international male player, an international female player and an Indian player. In addition each team features Indian junior players who will practise and travel with the team and gain from this invaluable experience

The Teams:

1. Team Delhi (Delhi Dreams):

 Juan Carlos Ferrero (Spain)

 Kevin Anderson (South Africa)

 Sanam Singh (India)

 Jelena Jankovic (Serbia)


2. Team Mumbai:

Sergi Bruguera (Spain)

Tommy Rebredo (Spain)

Alize Cornet (France)

Sriram Bala (India)


3. Team Chandigarh:

Greg Rusedski (United Kingdom)

David Ferrer (Spain)

Garbine Muguruza (Spain)

Somdev Devvarman (India)


4. Team Pune:

Pat Cash (Australia)

Marcos Baghdatis (Cyprus)

Agnieszka Radwanska (Poland)

Saketh Myneni (India)


5. Team Bangalore (Bangalore Raptors):

Thomas Enqvist (Sweden)

Feliciano Lopez (Spain)

Venus Williams (USA)

Ramkumar Ramanathan (India)


6. Team Hyderabad (Hyderabad Aces) :

Mark Philippoussis (Australia)

Mikhail Youzhny (Russia)

Martina Hingis (Switzerland)

Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (India)

 Mark your calendars

So mark your calendars for this exciting event that promises to promote Indian tennis. The Bangalore Raptors will play Hyderabad Aces in the tournament opener at the Lal Bahadur Stadium in Hyderabad on November 17. Top ATP players Venus Williams and Martina Hingis will face each other in the opening game.


The CTL Schedule

For Sports Updates