National Table Tennis Championship: Soumyajit, Mouma Crowned Winners

The 76th National table tennis championship came to a close on Saturday. Soumyajit Ghosh of PSPB defeated his teammate and top seed G. Sathiyan to take the men’s singles title. In women’s singles, Mouma Das of PSPB defeated teammate Poulami Ghatak. Here are detailed results of the finals and also the finals of other events in Puducherry:

Men’s Singles: Soumyajit battles past Sathiyan 


Soumyajit Ghosh of PSPB in action

After beating RBI’s Raj Mondal in the semifinals, PSPB’s top gun Soumyajit Ghosh put up a clinical performance against G. Sathiyan to take the men’s singles title. With the game poised at 1-1 after two sets, Soumyajit won two back to back games to put his opponent under pressure. Sathiyan fought back to win the fifth game, 15-13, but that wasn’t good enough for winning the title and  Soumyajit was able to complete a 4-2 victory by winning a close sixth game.

Men’s Singles: Final:

Soumyajit Ghosh (PSPB) bt G. Sathiyan (PSPB) 4-2 (11-7, 9-11, 11-3, 13-11, 13-15, 11-9);


G. Sathiyan (PSPB) bt Harmeet Desai (PSPB) 4-0 (11-9, 11-8, 11-7, 11-5)

Soumyajit Ghosh (PSPB) bt Raj Mondal (RBI) 4-3 (8-11, 11-5, 4-11, 4-11, 11-4, 12-10, 11-8).

Women’s singles: Mouma Das makes a comeback against Poulami Ghatak

After Soumyajit Ghosh, another PSPB player managed to clinch the silverware in the women’s event. Mouma Das registered a 4-2 win over Poulami Ghatak. After beating tournament favourite K. Shamini in the semifinals, Mouma came back from a 2-1 deficit and game points in the fourth game to claim as 4-2 victory.

Women’s Singles Final:

Mouma Das (PSPB) bt Poulami Ghatak (PSPB) 4-2 (7-11, 7-11, 11-3, 14-12, 11-7, 11-6)


Mouma Das (PSPB) bt K. Shamini (PSPB) 4-3 (7-11, 13-11, 11-7, 8-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-5),

Poulami Ghatak (PSPB) bt Ankita Das (PSPB) 4-1 (11-1, 11-9, 7-11, 11-3, 11-1).

Men’s Doubles: Shetty-Amalraj duo defeat Haryana

Sanil Shetty and Anthony Amalraj, once again from PSPB, emerged as the best men’s pair in the national table tennis tournament. The duo beat Jubin Kumar and Sourav Chakraborty of Haryana with a score of 3-1 (11-8, 7-11, 11-6, 11-7)

Women’s doubles: Mouma combines with Shamini to complete double

In the women’s doubles, Mouma Das paired with semifinal opponent K. Shamini. They proved their supremacy by pulling off a one-sided victory against Mallika Bhandarkar and Vedika Garga of Maharashtra-B in the finals. The score read 3-0 (11-8, 11-3, 11-5).

Mixed doubles: RBI players make superb comeback to win final

Raj Mondal and Krittwika Sinha Roy of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) won the only senior title for their team at the national table tennis championship. They outplayed the talented Bengali duo of Sourav Saha and Mousami Paul with a score of 3-1. After losing the first set 7-11, Mondal and Krittwika came back superbly to take the next three sets 11-2, 11-1 and 11-7.


So the finals saw the seasoned Soumyajit Ghosh and Mouma Das win the title but top seeded Sathiyan is a promising talent and it will be interesting to see his progress.

For Sports Updates